Failing my Library Use skill

I’ve got way too many games. Probably in excess of 100 systems with loads of supplemental material. I’ve been in the process of thinning down my collection for a while now, but without a clear goal in sight. Some things are clearly of no further use to me (Traveller: the New Era) whilst others will have to be pried from my cold dead hands (Moldvay edition Basic D&D). The rest exist in that grey space where they might get used or read in the future, but probably won’t. To help, I’m constructing a list of essentials that I will always have at the core of my gaming library.

  • D&D Basic (Labyrinth Lord, plus the Advanced Edition)
    D&D 4e Essentials
    13th Age
    Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
    Traveller (Mongoose)
    Earthdawn (Redbrick compendiums)
    Star Wars (FFG trilogy)
    Savage Worlds, with Sci Fi and fantasy companions
    Marvel Heroic Roleplaying
    Apocalypse World
    Fate Accelerated Edition
    Over the Edge

Everything else is non-core, and therefore up for disposal! What’s missing? Loads of supplements, adventures, magazines… stuff. I want to drop all that kit because it’s become a bit of a millstone. I’d rather prep my own stuff going forward, or lean on improv to get gaming done. From a genre perspective, there is no horror in here (not my thing), and no cyberpunk, which is my thing so I need to fill that gap. Perhaps Shadowrun 2nd ed. Which will bring it to 13 games, and that’s surely enough for anyone right?

6 Comments

Filed under RPG

6 responses to “Failing my Library Use skill

  1. I completely feel you here Baz. I’ve been looking at my collection and wondering why I have most of it! A lot of it has to do with history. I’ve kept rules because we played them years ago and they were fun – even though I’m highly unlikely to go back to them (1st Edition AD&D for example). Others because I thought we’d get more use out of them but haven’t. I’m going to be putting a lot of stuff on eBay or the Sales/Wants on UK Role Players soon because I need to whittle it down. I probably won’t get much for them but I will get back the space ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The problem is trying to work out what is essential and what isn’t! For the moment I think all my non-5th Edition D&D rulebooks can go – that’ll free-up a bookcase or so ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yeah, D&D is the hardest one for me to settle on. I think I could happily live with just the three core 5e books. They hit all the previous editions high points. But it would feel like a betrayal!

  2. I ended up buying a replacement Traveller: TNE core book out of some sort of twisted nostalgia. I did not get on with the game when I first got it back in 1994ish and I am never going to play it again but when I saw a cheap copy I couldn’t help myself.

  3. MrNewt

    Pah you traitor Gaz! Buy more stuff….and every now and again buy more bookshelves from IKEA…Simples! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Seriously though, I can understand this a gamer myself, but I’m lucky I have periodic purges myself. Unless its a book I either have extreme attachment (RQ2 for example, which I recently invested in an uber rare hardcover from the 80s) or one I keep on going back to again and again for reference (oh o RuneQuest again…probably 3rd ed or maybe Fate Core), its all going electronic.

  4. doctormitch

    It’s an interesting exercise- what are my 13 essential games? And am I allowed supplements in this fictional exercise? It looks like you have for Earthdawn. And is it cheating to allow my own stuff, or is that a freebie?

    At the moment I’m in a weird space where the bookcase I’ve allowed myself is nearly full, and a mere six months ago I parted with everything I felt I could bear to part with. I’m no minimalist, at least, and don’t feel oppressed by my books. But even so…

    • Well I’ve gone with 13 games, rather than supplements. I’m trying to reduce my supplement addiction because honestly, how much have they ever actually added to my sessions? Earthdawn gets a pass because as the finest RPG ever produced it deserves one.

Leave a Reply

