Savage Insight

I’ve been browsing the GMing chapter in Savage Worlds of late. I like these things. Easy to overlook if you consider yourself a veteran, but I like to see what spin they out on old topics. Sometimes I see a brilliant way of putting things, or a clever insight. This one popped out at me today:

Characters don’t engage in revealing small talk like real people do.

Oh so true, and oh how I wish they did. Often a game will have examples of play, or you’ll see something online that would suggest a bit of banter is happening alongside the combats and skill rolls, but at the table? I think that quote is bang on. 

A goal of mine when I play is to verbalise aspects of my character to the others during the game. All that really means is taking every chance to speak as one in which to colour in my place in the setting a little bit more than just by taking action. If I can mention a tattoo, or the way I always give a little shrug when I’m asked a question, or the colour and texture of my boots, I will. Often it’s just restating the same material that I spouted in the two minute “tell me about your character” intro, but sometimes it’s fleshing it out. Turns out this is rare in my circles and experience. 

I often wonder how much players really know about the other characters at the table? If there were a quiz at the end of the session, how good would the score be? I see it as my job to ‘advertise’ my character, so for me, that small talk mentioned in the Savage book is actually pretty big. 

2 Comments

Filed under RPG

2 responses to “Savage Insight

  1. Rich

    This is a cool thing that not every player indulges in; but as you say it’s very effective.

    Big shout out to Glen who joined in my CoC game recently and left an instant impression of his character, Dr Nathaniel Hawkes, by mentioning his fiddling of the moustache when nervous and surreptitious swig from the hipflask when at the next level of agitation. Simple, but hugely descriptive of his character.

  2. What makes role playing fun is when the players have a hook and make it clear what that is. From a funny voice, to using a certain weapon even though better ones are available. It is those hooks, and employing them that makes a game fun.

    Like time my character with the major disadvantage of alcoholic, with a quirk of spends all his money walked into a bar after the parties first big score, dropped all his money on the bar and asked for as drink as that would buy. After that the rest of the party made sure to never give my character money, and bought him his weapons and equipment.

Leave a Reply

