The Fight-arr in 5e

Who doesn’t want to see a Dragonborn pirate? Not me. So I got busy with my Players Handbook again.

Stat array is easy to do, putting the big guns in Str and Con, naturally. The Dragonborn race bumps Cha for me so I’m already picturing a big-assed cutlass wielded with bon mots for his foes. This time I went straight to background as it seems to be the right way to grab all the right detail early in the process. The book provides Sailor but also offers Pirate as an option. Nice.

IMG_0436.JPG

My traits come up as you see them in the pic. Pleased with those, and it sends me straight to Chaotic Neutral as an alignment.

I fill in three lists as I go, kit, abilities, and proficiencies. I push him up to level 3 straight away and grab Battle Master as my sub class. So this is where they hid the Warlord! This option opens up Superiority Dice as a sub mechanic. 4d8, which clearly I want buy in a custom colour just for this. They power maneuvres, and I pick Feinting Attack, Riposte and Trip Attack.

All told, 15 minutes, an it appears I’ve generated a T’skrang sword master by complete accident!

5 Comments

Filed under RPG

5 responses to “The Fight-arr in 5e

  1. catty_big

    That’s a very handy how-to guide for statting bad guys Baz. Full marks. And the villain’s name: inspired by the late lamented Rik Mayall perchance?

  2. Richard

    As you know, mate, my fantasy tastes are a little more conservative and, er, less fantastical; who wants to see a Dragon born Pirate? Not me (wink).

    How’s the new PHB looking for throwing out characters at the lower end of the fantasy spectrum? The sort that would fit into a humanocentric leaning Greyhawk for example.

    • It’s the default mate. Well, one of them. There’s call outs to Greyhawk, Dragonlance, Ravenloft, lots of forgotten Realms, and the gods include Greek and Norse pantheons. It’s pretty inclusive!
      The races are listed as: dwarf, elf, human, Halfling. After that, you get what are called Uncommon races, dragon born, gnome, half elf, half Orc and tiefling. Simply put, the book asks you to check with your DM before you take the uncommon ones. That’s quite telling I think.
      Humans get +1 to all stats.
      I guess the real tell is in the backgrounds. See what these say to you: acolyte, charlatan, criminal, (spy), entertainer, folk hero, guild artisan, (merchant), hermit, noble, outlander, sage, sailor, (pirate), soldier, urchin.

  3. Richard

    Cool. It sounds as though it can handle the “lower” end of the fantasy spectrum if thoses races, Dragonborn and Tiefling in particular, are treated as optional. The backgrounds look like a nice innovation although I’m pondering the length and breadth of the Inspiration mechanic in actual play.

Leave a Reply

