Reading and Writing

I really need to stop buying games for a while. I’m desperately trying to write my own game and at the same time I keep wanting to read all my new purchases. Pelgrane Press have got me on the hook for Nights Black Agents, Mutant City Blues, Ashen Stars, TimeWatch and loads of supplements. There’s the new and final Next packet. And there’s the 13th Age Bestiary.

They’re all great. They all have something innovative, or at least steal able in them. And that’s the problem. My game keeps wanting to incorporate the best bits of my latest reading.

War Stories started life as a riff on Gamma World mixed with B/X D&D (of all things). Since then it’s morphed and evolved into a DCC clone. Then it got stripped away and given the Owl Hoot Trail treatment. Now I’m revamping it (ha!) off the back of some great stuff in Nights Black Agents!

I always knew it was going to be a bit of a Frankenstein’s monster, but it’s looking more and more like I’ve dropped my game collection into a blender. Add to that, I think I’ve added in some innovations of my own, so it’s even more of an unholy cocktail. Still, it’s my cocktail, and I’m the only one who has to drink it!

Wonder what would happen if I picked up something truly indie for some light bedtime reading?

1 Comment

Filed under RPG

One response to “Reading and Writing

  1. Reblogged this on UKRP Design Collective and commented:
    My game is becoming a cut and shut.

Leave a Reply

