Next Monsters by the numbers

I spent a dull but necessary hour or two typing all the D&D Next monsters into a spreadsheet. I only went to 10th level, I’m crazy not mad. Now I’ve done it, you don’t have too! I did this because I’m converting my campaign over and flicking back and forth through the packets alphabetically was proving irksome.

What did I learn?

  • Monsters pretty much roll to hit at +5. A bit more if they’re good.
  • Damage is approx level x 4. Look out for multi attacks though, loads of monsters have them.
  • Hit points are all over the place. I can’t fathom a pattern.
  • The highest AC is 18 (Fire Giant)
  • Average AC is 13

Spreadsheet attached here for you. Enjoy! Next monsters

6 Comments

Filed under RPG

6 responses to “Next Monsters by the numbers

  1. Heehee. I have a similar madness. I once input all of the NPCs from my Warhammer campaign into a database so I could cross-reference who had been where at what time. Excellent work!

  2. Richard

    Good work, Baz.

    Is fixed damage a feature of Next? or, was that just for the sheet?

    • They give you the roll and the average. I’ve been using fixed damage exclusively for a couple of months now. Players dont even notice and it gives you valuable GM time back.

      • Richard

        You know I’ve really branched out of late and run some diverse games for my group and really enjoyed the different approaches and concepts, but I can’t get my head around fixed damage. I mean, it just really, really feels wrong. Weird. Especially when I can visualise the possible benefits and my head still goes “no, it’s a sin against all you hold sacred”. Like, what?

      • Here’s their explanation:

        “Except for the first half of his Elysombra campaign, Jonathan has always run d20 games using average results for monster damage instead of rolling damage dice. I stuck to rolling monster damage dice, claiming that Jonathan’s version might make monsters predictable. Gradually I realized that isn’t true.

        Designing 13th Age, I noticed that I had no interest in abilities that let monsters reroll damage; and if a reroll isn’t interesting, the original roll isn’t either. So we’ve moved to Jonathan’s system. It’s less swingy, simpler for the GM, and offers an illusory iota of player control over hit point outcomes that are easily complicated by monster abilities and that trigger as surprises. The new system makes the attack roll more meaningful and preserves damage rolling for a few dramatic exceptions.

        If you find that you can’t abide the new flat-damage method, you could opt to roll damage dice that have an average close to the listed result. But we don’t recommend it. The monsters are retooled to be interesting using fixed damage. “

  3. Richard

    Cheers, Baz.

    Sounds like it’s time for an experiment.

Leave a Reply

