Top 11 adventures

In Mike Mearls’ latest Legends and Lore column, he gives the results of a poll he ran. The winners are:

  1. Ravenloft
  2. Red Hand of Doom
  3. Desert of Desolation
  4. Keep on the Borderlands
  5. Night’s Dark Terror
  6. Tomb of Horrors
  7. Village of Hommlet
  8. Against the Giants
  9. Burnt Offerings
  10. Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh
  11. Temple of Elemental Evil

I own Ravenloft, Desert of Desolation, Keep on the Borderlands, Night’s Dark Terror, Hommlet and Saltmarsh. Not bad. What’s perhaps more telling though, is that I’ve played none of them and DMed only three (although they were numbers 1, 3 and 4, so I’m in good company).

I think that might be true of a lot of the people polled. It’s a difficult thing, listing the best of anything, especially when you don’t have a huge amount of experience to pull from. I mean, I’ve been DMing for 30 years, and almost exclusively published modules at that. Not always D&D, but a lot. So, I guess I’m saying, what if the question were; how many published D&D adventures have you played in? If it’s more than 11, I’d say you’ve played a great many more than most.

BTW, I’d add Rahasia, the Witchfire Trilogy and the Banewarrens to that list.

3 Comments

Filed under RPG

3 responses to “Top 11 adventures

  1. bluremi72

    Sad to say after 30 years I’ve played all of those mods (and a few more) except burnt offerings and red hand of doom. Just like you, I would have added Rahasia. I’ll give hickman credit for using Malay words to give his adventures that other-worldly feeling.

  2. I’d be interested to see the publishing dates for each of those. With the exception of Red Hand of Doom, I don’t think any of them were published in the last 20 years, were they?

    I think Nostalgia may be at work here.

    • Turns out the question actually asked by Mr Mearls was:

      “Name up to three dnd adventures to serve as models by which all others are designed. Any source – print, PDF, Dungeon mag, d20 publishers.”

      I think that helps explain the make up of the list. Certainly I believe nostalgia has a big part to play, in fact it was inevitable. Burnt Offerings is a newish one though, from Paizo.

Leave a Reply

