You talking to me?

I’m the proud owner of an extensive RPG magazine collection. The first white Dwarf I ever bought was issue 23, and up until about issue 100 I’d have to say that’s an awesome repository of gaming goodness. But the weird thing is, as much as I loved the mags, and very much regret their passing, it’s the odd little bits of them I remember the most.

I don’t really recall the scenarios, or the new classes, or the monsters or the magic items. What I remember best are the letters, the adverts, the editorials and the reviews. These were always the parts I’d read first, and the ones I’d return to. I think it’s because all of them feel like the writer is having a discussion with me. They’re personal.

Back in the pre-net days of fanzines there was a clear distinction between those that were Hard (ie full of what would now be called crunch) and those that were Soft (or, fluff). I liked Soft more.

It’s the same with DDI nowadays, I love Ampersand, and I largely ignore the Class articles.

It even extends to hard copy RPG books. My faves always have designers notes or sidebars. They are usually more entertaining and insightful than the main content.  

Maybe it’s becasue I like talking about games almost as much as I like playing them? Certainly it’s one of the main drivers of this blog.

Just a thought…

2 Comments

Filed under RPG

2 responses to “You talking to me?

  1. I have to agree. When something is written like the person is speaking to you, trying to pull you in to a discussion it just seems that much more fun and engaging. I do the same thing with a lot of my books, searching out side bars to read the juicy side bits of info that needed to be mentioned but otherwise had no place. You often learn a lot from them too. (like how much strength you need to throw the earth in M&M 2nd edition)

  2. Tim

    My favourite rulebook was and is the Runequest original white book: it presented the creation and development of a character via the story of Rurik, the somewhat clumsy fighter and his many misjudgements. It was a revelation at the time.

Leave a Reply

