Spoiled by 4e?

4e has spolied me for the rest of the hobby.

I’ve been voraciously buying, reading and playing for the last 6 months. I’ve never had such sustained good times in my 30 years of gaming. I’ve had better peaks, and much, much worse troughs, but this damn game just bloody works.

I can always find something to buy that looks good, is interesting and useful. It has accessories to die for. There’s a bazillion folk on the ‘net who want to debate and discuss the game. My players show up early and always ask for more. My wife is now a fan, and brags about her character at the slightest provocation. And a million other reasons too.

Now, I haven’t stopped reading my other games. And the last thing I bought was StarSIEGE. But, but, but. I can’t help but feel that the rest of the hobby is slightly grey and dull and uninspired and, well, just hard work. I just can’t find my old levels of enthusiasm now. If old friends were to suggest running a game of, say, Cthulhu or Trinity or anything but 4e really, I’d find it difficult to get excited like I used to.

I’m sure this won’t last forever, but its already lasted longer than some campaigns I’ve had. Will the bubble burst? If it does, what will my hobby look like then? If it doesn’t, then should I just ditch everything else properly?

1 Comment

Filed under RPG, Uncategorized

One response to “Spoiled by 4e?

  1. Sounds like a good place to be.

Leave a Reply

