Roll20

After playing over Roll 20 with some of the gents from UK Roleplayers last night, I’ve spent a happy hour investigating the interface today. Wow! Even I can understand it! It’s just about perfect for my needs. Don’t know why I didn’t properly check this out before.

The downside? I’m likely to spend a lot more prep time dragging in maps and tokens etc. Having said that, I’ve got loads of that sort of stuff clogging up my shelves IRL already.

Anyone else gotten to grips with this? Any hints, tips, pitfalls, resources?

6 Comments

Filed under RPG

6 responses to “Roll20

  1. Richard

    It was very good, wasn’t it?

    I haven’t got to grips with at all but I have been instructed to do so by Minor; he only lives upstairs, why does he want me to this when we can, like, get around a table downstairs? Kids!

    I have the same reservations as you regarding getting carried away into the massive prep zone. Strangely, only one of my group has shown much in the way of love for a game online. They must like me circumnavigating the globe to play.

    • Kids eh?

      I mean, obviously, there’s pros and cons. The single biggest pro has got to be that we played a good game, with players sat in the comfort of their own homes (or hotel in my case) in Manchester, Essex, Nottingham, Norfolk and Holland. *Holland*!

      And it was a no-fat game too. I like that. You’d think it would be hard to stay engaged, but actually it proved to have less distractions for me than many round the table games.

      I’ll never stop trad play, but this is a great supplement to it.

  2. Hmm…I’ve been excited about this since I first heard about it. Good to hear that it’s working for you. I’d love to hear more about it as you use it more often; I worry about massive prep time, too.

    • You can get a perfectly great play experience with no prep whatsoever! I hope I haven’t made it sound like a bigger deal than it is. It’s just I would want to go mad, and it will happily let me!

      • Oh, no…I’m really, REALLY controlling of my gaming experience. Even when running a tabletop game, I tended to make tons of specific scenery for each session and would even sometimes create intro videos, so I KNOW I’m likely to get sucked into the whirlwind of “possibilities” with any platform like that. :)

      • Then treat yourself! Jump in with both feet!

Leave a Reply

