WotC come out of the bunker

Rodney Thompson from WotC has put a request online at a few sites. I’ll quote it in full:

Help me make WotC adventures better.


 

Hello there everybody,

In case you don’t know me, I’m Rodney Thompson, a D&D developer at Wizards of the Coast. Over the years I’ve seen WotC adventures take some knocks, to put it mildly. To put it more bluntly, I’ve seen comments to the effect that WotC adventures are, ahem, the worst. I’m not sure I agree, but there is a perception out there that some WotC-published adventures are sub-par.

I’d like to change that.

I’m making it my mission to change the way we design, develop, and edit adventures. It’s not going to be a fast process, or an easy one, but I’ve formed my task force and have visited the quartermaster for ammunition and supplies. However, like any mission, mine needs some good Intelligence before the work can begin.

So, what I’d like to hear from the community is what you think would make published adventures better. What areas are WotC adventures lacking in that could be improved? What makes a good adventure for you, and why are the published adventures so far not doing that for you?

If you want to just post some thoughts, that’s fine by me, and I’ll be eager to read them. However, if you REALLY want to be a superstar, when you talk about something that can be improved, give me an example of a WotC adventure that does that thing badly (or not at all), and an example of an adventure that does that well.

The only other things I ask are this: 1) Be polite and respectful. I am not going to take you seriously if you rant and rave. 2) Avoid hyperbole. If I see the words “epic fail” or “worst adventure ever” there’s a good chance I won’t take your comments seriously. 3) Don’t use this as a soapbox from which to launch complaints about 4th Edition. We’re here to talk about adventures, people, not game systems.

So, that’s pretty much it. Help me out, would ya?

__________________
Rodney Thompson
RPG Designer/Developer
Dungeons & Dragons
Wizards of the Coast
 
This is a brave move and I applaud it. A large part of this blog is about published adventures. I’ve had my fair share of negative comments to make, although I also see more positives than many other commentators. This will be very interesting, I can’t wait to see his responses.
3 Comments

Filed under RPG

3 responses to “WotC come out of the bunker

  1. Pingback: Eternal Darkness Sunday « Old School Rant

  2. Pingback: Module Design Tips for WotC - Synapse Design Blog

  3. Hi there,

    I want to talk to WoTC about their adventures. Not the professionalism/detail/etc but with the emphasis on combat and the very little of chance of the ‘Actor’ aspect being applied. Adventures such as ‘Kobold Hall’, ‘Keep on Shadowfall’ and I can go on. (I have 6 WoTC adventures and only one allows the chance of the players to interact – ‘Demon Queen Enclave’ so I have given WoTC a good chance!)

    I got the 4ed because I like the combat and the strucutre. – I thought 3.x was way too complex that is why I stayed with 2nd Ed all this time. So, it isn’t that. – But please allow the DM to interact with the PC’s to push the game along..

    Adventure’s such as the Planescape ones were brilliant and still allowed bashing so how about WoTC doing what they recommend in the DMG1?

    Please?

    Kind regards

    Steve

Leave a Reply

